Do You Lose Your License Immediately After a DUI in Tennessee?

Do You Lose Your License Immediately After a DUI in Tennessee?

Getting pulled over for DUI in Tennessee can lead to losing your license and other penalties. This is why getting good legal help navigating the rules and laws on drinking and driving in Tennessee is critical. If you’ve been caught driving under the influence, read on to find out what the odds are of losing your license and how a Nashville, TN, DUI lawyer can help.

License Suspension After a DUI in Tennessee

In Tennessee, your license will be suspended immediately if you refuse a breathalyzer or blood test after being arrested for a DUI. The officer will take your license right then and there. This is known as an “on-the-spot” suspension.

The officer will confiscate your license after a failed test or refusal to test. You’ll be given a temporary paper license that is valid for 7 days. You then have 7 days from the notice date to request a hearing to contest the revocation. If no hearing is requested, your license will be suspended automatically on day 8.

At the hearing, the judge will decide whether to uphold or reverse the revocation after reviewing evidence like the arrest report, breath/blood test results, and your testimony.

Even if you took the test and failed, or took the test and passed but are still arrested, your license can still be suspended. The officer might let you keep your license after a failed test but will send the results to the Tennessee Department of Safety. They will suspend your license after reviewing the report.

Length of License Suspension for First Offense DUIs

If convicted of your first DUI offense in Tennessee, your driver’s license will typically be suspended for one year, starting the day the sentence is imposed. However, this suspension can be reduced to 45 days on your first offense if you:

  • Install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for six months from the date your license suspension ends
  • Complete a certified DUI school

a DUI charge leads to the automatic suspension of your license

Other possible ways to reduce the length of your suspension on a first offense include:

  • For a first BAC of .08 to .099: 30 days with an ignition interlock device for 3 months
  • For a first BAC of .20 or higher: 6 months with ignition interlock device for 6 months

If you refuse a breathalyzer or blood test on your first offense, your license will be suspended for one year with no possibility of a restricted license.

Getting a Restricted License After a DUI Suspension

Losing your license after a DUI can make life very challenging. However, there are options for getting a restricted license to meet basic needs. To get a restricted license after a DUI suspension in Tennessee, there are a few key requirements:

  • Your DUI suspension must have been in effect for a minimum of 30 days.
  • You cannot have any other current license suspensions.
  • You must show proof of valid insurance.
  • You must prove that driving privileges are essential for purposes like:
    • Getting to and from work.
    • Attending school or religious services.
    • Receiving medical care.

By meeting the important eligibility and application requirements, you may be able to get a restricted license in Tennessee after a DUI suspension. This can help restore your driving capabilities for vital needs.

Contact an Experienced DUI Lawyer in Nashville, TN

After being charged with a DUI in Tennessee, it’s crucial to speak with a knowledgeable attorney as soon as possible. An experienced DUI lawyer can review the details of your case and advise you on the best path forward.

The legal team at Byron Pugh Legal has extensive experience defending clients facing DUI charges. We understand how devastating it can be to lose your driving privileges in Tennessee. Contact us today at 615-857-3318 to discuss the details of your case. We’re ready to provide skilled, tenacious representation focused on preserving your rights and driving access.