Understanding DUI Laws in Nashville: What You Need to Know

Understanding DUI Laws in Nashville: What You Need to Know

When you are pulled over for a DUI check and your BAC level is above the legal limit, you are in serious legal trouble. DUI laws in Nashville are extremely severe and judges show no leniency towards offenders. If you were charged, you need to consult with an experienced Nashville DUI lawyer as soon as possible.

Let us discuss in detail what represents a DUI offense in Tennessee and what potential penalties you may face if convicted.

Legal BAC Limits in Nashville

In Nashville, it is illegal to drive or be in control of a vehicle if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08% or higher. This limit is applicable for adult drivers over 21 years old.

For drivers below 21 years old, the legal limit is much lower – 0.02%. Also, commercial drivers must not drive with a BAC level exceeding 0.04%.

Moreover, both private and commercial drivers of all ages are prohibited from driving or being in control of a vehicle while under the influence of any drugs and controlled substances that impair the central nervous system.

Tennessee Applies the Implied Consent to Drivers

One of the things anyone needs to know is that when you get your driver’s license you are under the implied consent to take a Breathalyzer test anytime a police officer asks you to perform it.

If you refuse to take the test, then your driver’s license will be revoked for an increasing period of time with each new refusal:

  • 1 year for the first time
  • 2 years for the second time
  • 5 years if besides refusing the breath test you were involved in an accident resulting in a person’s death

DUI Laws in Nashville Impose Harsh Penalties for Repeat Offenders

Our state has a very severe stance on all DUI offenders, but especially those who repeat the offense. Let us have a look at the potential penalties the judge may impose if you are convicted of driving under the influence:

drunk driving is illegal in Tennessee

Penalties for the First DUI

If you think that you may get a lenient sentence if it’s your first DUI, think again. You are facing between 48 hours and less than 12 months in jail. Additionally, you may have to pay fines between $350 and $1,500.

Moreover, the court may determine additional penalties:

  • Installing an ignition interlock device in your car when you regain your driving privileges
  • Mandatory participation in a drug and alcohol treatment program
  • Community service
  • Suspension of the driving license for at least one year

You must talk to a skilled Nashville DUI lawyer and take the charges extremely seriously, as they can have a long-lasting negative impact on your life.

DUI Penalties for Repeat Offenders

Now, what happens if you are caught driving under the influence for the second or third time? The potential penalties will become increasingly severe, as follows:

  • Second offense: 45 days to 11 months in jail, $600 to $3,500 fines and 2 years driving license suspension
  • Third offense: 120 days to 11 months in jail, $1,100 to $10,000 fines and 6 years driving license suspension
  • Fourth offense and more: up to one year in jail, $3,000 to $15,000 fines and 8 years driving license suspension

Additionally, you may have to participate in a drug and alcohol treatment program, perform community service and install an ignition interlock device.

Aggravating Factors in DUI Cases

In certain situations, the potential penalties for a DUI offense may be increased due to aggravating factors. These factors are:

  • Having a passenger under 18 years old in the car
  • Being involved in a traffic accident resulting in bodily injury or death
  • Having a very high BAC level
  • Having prior criminal convictions on your record
  • Driving recklessly when you were pulled over for the DUI check

Discuss Your Case with an Experienced Nashville DUI Lawyer!

DUI laws in our state are not lenient towards anyone – and this involves your first time being pulled over for a breath test. Refusing the test or blowing above the legal limit will have negative consequences, which will have long-term effects on your life.

The best decision you can take is getting in touch with a skilled Nashville DUI lawyer at Byron Pugh Legal as soon as possible after being charged. An attorney knows how to analyze the facts of your case and identify the best defense strategy.

Call us today to schedule a free case evaluation at 615-257-9705!